Don't Let The Muffin Top Fool Ya! Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 24 Apr 2019 14:16:27 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, Apr 24, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2019.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 6 am start. Wed, 24 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 23, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2019.html <p>7.75 miles. Hood Route to Legacy Trail over SWOM Bridge and back. Fast-ish mile on the way out - 7:12. Fast-ish mile on the way back - 6:52. 6 am start. Humidity, ah, there you are.&nbsp;</p> <p>I ate WAY too much egg salad yesterday. That&#39;s not the best runner diet.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 22, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2019.html <p>5.5 miles. Hood route. 6 am start.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 21, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-21-2019.html 5.5 miles. Hood route. 7 am start. Sun, 21 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 20, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-20-2019.html 13.4 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over the SWOM bridge to Venice Avenue and back. 7:45 am start. Very windy. 2 of the first 4 miles were right into the wind. The last 2 miles I was really dragging. Sat, 20 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 19, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-19-2019.html <p>7.75 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail over SWOM Bridge and back. Slow but steady pace. late start - 6:15. The humidity has returned.&nbsp;</p> <p>So on Tuesday night, I was talking to my dad next to his car. I commented that it was the cleanest car I&nbsp;have ever seen. Like a mirror. He spent roughly 6 hours on Sunday detailing his car. It must be nice to be retired. Then he started singing &quot;Working at the car wash blues.&quot; I haven&#39;t thought about Jim Croce in years! So, since Tuesday, one Jim Croce song or another has been rattling through my head at all times. This morning it was &quot;One less set of footsteps.&quot; So there&#39;s that.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 19 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 18, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2019.html <p>Missed running yesterday after 25 straight days. I played a bunch of 5 on 5 soccer last night, so it&#39;s not like I&#39;m a couch potato or anything. I was still a bit ticked about missing yesterday, because this low dew point, low humidity stuff doesn&#39;t last forever around here. If I&nbsp;get decent weather, I&nbsp;need to jump on it. I wasted an opportunity yesterday. Enough about yesterday.&nbsp;</p> <p>Today - 7.75 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail over SWOM bridge and back. 5:50 am start. Fast-ish mile on the way out. 6:35.&nbsp;Fast-ish mile on the way back. 6:38. I&#39;m starting to like this fast mile thrown in running thing. I&#39;ve been running easy miles for 2+ years. It&#39;s about time I push it. Even just a little bit.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 18 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 16, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-16-2019.html <p>7.5 miles. Hood Route. 6 am start. 67 degrees?&nbsp;less than 50% humidity?&nbsp;dew point below 50? Where am I? Is this heaven?&nbsp;</p> Tue, 16 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 15, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-15-2019.html 7.75 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over the SWOM bridge. Smooth. 70 something degrees. 5:45 am start. Mon, 15 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 14, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2019.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 7 pm start. Tommy's soccer team lost the state championship final this morning 2-0. Then we drive home and unpacked and cleaned. We have 1 more tournament in 2 weeks. Then that's the end of the season. It has been a really long season. Everyone is totally burned out. Tryouts for next year are mid May! Sun, 14 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 13, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2019.html 7 miles. In Winter Haven. FL. 11 am start. Hot. Tommy's soccer team is in the state championship tournament tbis weekend. They won this morning 5 to 1. Tomorrow is the final. If they win there, apparently we go to Baton Rouge for regionals. Anyhow, after the game this morning, i got to run around a lake in Winter Haven near Legoland. It was a decent run, considering the busy morning and all. Good luck to all the FRB-ers going to Boston! Sat, 13 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 12, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2019.html Hood. 6 am. Fri, 12 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 11, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2019.html 3.5 Miles. Hood route. 5:45 am start. Thu, 11 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 10, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2019.html <p>5.5 miles. Hood Route. Then 1.2 around the block miles with Johnny. 5:45 am start.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 10 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 09, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-09-2019.html 5.5 miles. Hood route. 5:45 am start. In the rain. Then 2 around the block miles, including 2 quarter mile pickups. 1:27, 1:32. The run was short - stridey, so I threw in some speed. Rain was steady at the end of it all. Tue, 09 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 08, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-08-2019.html <p>3.5 miles. hood route. 6 am start. Then 2 around the block miles with Johnny.</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 07, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-07-2019.html 3.5 miles. hood route. 7 am start. Then 2 around the block miles with Johnny. He is somewhat serious about doing decent at the gator wilderness 5k. Sun, 07 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 06, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2019.html <p>10.7 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail, over SWOM and back to Colonia, and back. 7 am start. Hot Humid.&nbsp;</p> <p>Because I am still ticked off about people using pseudo-science and numbers to indirectly call me a &quot;fatty&quot; yesterday,&nbsp;I decided to see if I could still get under a 7 minute mile if I wanted to, on the way out. I got a 6:42. There was some effort there. On the way back, I did it again. 6:47. Much more relaxed. Like, I thought it was going to be @ 7:30ish. All of this does nothing to change my BMI. And these aren&rsquo;t times that will go in record books. But it does reinforce my opinion that my health is defined by more than BMI.</p> <p>Also, we went to the Venice High School vs. North Port baseball game last night at the new Braves Spring Training Facility in North Port. What a great venue for high schoolers. I ate some popcorn. &nbsp;I think the excess salt made me feel like I had a size 11 tongue on this run!</p> Sat, 06 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 05, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2019.html <p>3.5 miles. hood route. 6 am start. 70 degrees.&nbsp;</p> <p>Then the health testing people came into the office (this is for reduced insurance costs). I&nbsp;had to fast before going to work today. But dang! I must have become shorter over last year. One of the most important&nbsp;metrics they use is BMI. I have to get below 170 pounds to not be considered &quot;overweight&quot;?&nbsp; Right now, I&#39;m 10 pounds shy of &quot;obese&quot;, apparently.</p> <p>I don&#39;t think I&#39;m going to see 170 anytime soon. I&#39;ll still get the reduced insurance plan, for sure. I have other means to get the points I&nbsp;need.</p> <p>I work in a building with 80&nbsp;people. If I&#39;m overweight, then so are 75 of my co-workers.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 05 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 04, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2019.html 7.5 miles. Hood route. 5:45 am start. 67 degrees. Thu, 04 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 03, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2019.html 7.5 miles. Hood route to legacy trail and back. 6 am start. Cool and breezy. Wed, 03 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 02, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-02-2019.html <p>7.5 miles. Hood route. No SWOM today. The weather has been great. 6 am start.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 02 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 01, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-01-2019.html <p>3.5 miles. hood route. 6:30 am start.&nbsp;</p> <p>I can&#39;t wait until after Easter, when all of the snowbirds leave. I am so tired of instructing these folks that they have the right of way. Look, it&#39;s dark, you have tinted windows, I can&#39;t see you, and I get that you want to show me that you see me, but this process works a lot better, if everybody just obeys the rules of the road. When you stop in the middle of a 45 mph road to give me room to cross a very small diveway, you are putting yourself in real danger. I don&#39;t run with any distractions. I am looking for you. You have the right of way. Just go. You can brag to your friends about what a safe driver you are some other day.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Mar 31, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-31-2019.html <p>3.5 miles. hood route 9 pm.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 31 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 30, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2019.html <p>12.9 miles. Hood route to legacy trail to Venice Avenue and back. 7 am start. Steady pace. Nothing crazy. No camelbak.</p> <p>Then went to a recreational league soccer game (friends of my sons). Then went to the Venice barbeque festival, where I&nbsp;played some corn toss, listened to some blue grass, and made some very bad food choices. Pulled Pork Nachos is not health food.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 30 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 29, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-29-2019.html <p>5.5 miles. hood route. 6 am start. the weather has been amazing lately. nice cool temps.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 29 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 28, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2019.html <p>5.5 miles. hood route. 6 am start. a bit cooler out this morning.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 28 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 27, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-27-2019.html <p>6 am start. 2.0&nbsp;miles. hood route to soccer fields. 0.5 miles home. bathroom stop. 0.5 miles to soccer fields. (8) x 100M+ sprints, with active recoveries. 0.5 miles home.</p> <p>I totally didn&#39;t feel like running. I <strong>really</strong> didn&#39;t feel like sprinting, especially after the bathroom stop. But I forced the issue. And I&#39;m glad I&nbsp;did. I&#39;m really starting to enjoy these short grass sprints.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 27 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 26, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-26-2019.html 5.5 miles. Hood route. 6 am start. 70 degrees. Tue, 26 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 25, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-25-2019.html <p>7.75 miles. Hood route to Legacy&nbsp;Trail over SWOM Bridge and back. 6 am start. 67 degrees. So end of March seems like a good time to put together a race plan for the year. Holy Procrastinating, Batman!&nbsp;</p> <p>4/27/19 - Gator Wilderness 10k in Punta Gorda</p> <p>9/29/19 - Nebraska Marathon</p> <p>11/2/19 - Revel Mt. Lemmon Marathon.&nbsp;</p> <p>I&#39;m not signed up for anything right now, which is why I have lost some motivation, I think. I may do both, or just one of the marathons. We will see.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 25 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Mar 24, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-24-2019.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 7:30 pm start. Now that vacation is over, I can re-focus on running maybe. Starting up a new plan. Sun, 24 Mar 2019 06:00:00