Don't Let The Muffin Top Fool Ya! Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 22 Feb 2019 20:00:19 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Feb 21, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-21-2019.html <p>3.5 miles. Hood Route. 6 am start.&nbsp;</p> <p>Sometimes life gets in the way of running.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 21 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 17, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-17-2019.html 7.75 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over the SWOM bridge and back. 7 am start. No nails. Very hot. Sun, 17 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 16, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-16-2019.html 10.7 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over the SWOM bridge, then down legacy trail to colinia, and the same route back. Started at 7. I don't know why I started so late, or why i looked down when I did, About a quarter mile into the run, I looked down to see a roofing nail with the point up in the middle of the sidewalk. I picked it up, and was adequately freaked out about what might have happened for the rest of the run. Next time I run in the dark, I am going to be on full ground scan mode. After running, I pressure washed the front of my house. Then I pressure washed my dad's driveway. Then I played an hour and a half of soccer with boy #1. Then I took boy #2 to the Venice courts, and we played basketball for 40 minutes. Then he got into two 4on4 pick up games. It was perfect. I got to practice with him but I didn't have to play a game. Then I went home and took a shower. I almost fell asleep in the shower. Sat, 16 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 15, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-15-2019.html <p>4 up. 8 x 100m+ grass sprints with 100m+ recoveries. 0.5 down. Like, perfect weather this morning. The kids have no soccer or basketball games this weekend.&nbsp;</p> <p>I might have to fix something around the house.&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Fri, 15 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 13, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-13-2019.html <p>7.5 miles. Hood Route to Legacy Trail and back. In the rain. Not a mist, not a drizzle, not a downpour, no lightning, no thunder, just constant easy rain. Not that bad, really.&nbsp;</p> <p>I took the boys to watch the Venice High girls soccer game last night (Tommy&#39;s whole soccer team went.). A win would have put them in the state championship tournament, but they lost to St. Pete, in the 7th round of a shootout. What a crazy game. I mean, even without my home team bias, it was just a great soccer game to watch. A couple of things:</p> <p>1. First time I have ever seen someone get a blue card. Venice played short handed for the last 12 minutes of regulation and all 20 minutes of overtime.&nbsp;</p> <p>2. At the end of every game decided by a shootout I have ever seen, every fan, every coach, and every player I have ever heard says &quot;It&#39;s a shame it had to end like this.&quot; If we ALL feel that way, why does it have to end like this? You would think something could be done. I mean, I&#39;m the first guy to complain about stuff without offering solutions. But this seems ENTIRELY FIXABLE.</p> Wed, 13 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 12, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-12-2019.html 2 up. 8 x 100m+ grass sprints with 100m+ recoveries. 0.5 down. I wanted more this morning, but I overslept. I'm glad I got the speed in, instead of defaulting to an easy run. Tue, 12 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 11, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-11-2019.html 7.75 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over the SWOM (Stupid Waste Of Money) bridge and back Mon, 11 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 10, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-10-2019.html 5.5 Mi on the Legacy trail from Venice Avenue to Laurel Road and back. It was like 80 degrees. But that's not the big news. The big news is that I saw wrong direction antisocial board shorts guy again! He was running South and I was running North. He had a lady friend with him who was riding a beach cruiser bicycle. I thought for a second about not saying anything. But then I realized I just had to. So I said hi, again. And he ignored me. Again. And I laughed for a little while after that. Now there is no way that it was headphones that was keeping him from saying hi to me. Clearly this is personal! Sun, 10 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 09, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-09-2019.html 1 mile on the hotel treadmill in Winter Haven. I realize that I hate treadmills. Then one mile outside the hotel. Tommy had a soccer tournament in Winter Haven this weekend. 3 games, 2 on Saturday. One on Sunday. They won 4-1, 6-1, and 8-1. Sat, 09 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 08, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-08-2019.html 7.75 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over the SWOM bridge and back. 5:45 am start. Light fog Fri, 08 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 07, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-07-2019.html <p>2 up. 8x100M+ grass sprints, with 100M+ recoveries. 2 down. 5:45 am start.</p> <p>My brother and his wife were&nbsp;at a recording&nbsp;of&nbsp;The Price Is Right about two weeks ago. He&#39;s been sending me photographs of his TV, where I can see them for the last&nbsp;hour.&nbsp;</p> <p>Our lives are very different.</p> Thu, 07 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 06, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-06-2019.html 7.5 miles. Hood route to legacy trail and back. 6 am start. Wed, 06 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 05, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-05-2019.html <p>4 up. 8x100M+ grass sprints, with 100M+ recoveries. 0.5 down. 5:45 am start. fogalicious. sprinting feels good again.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 05 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 04, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-04-2019.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 63 deg. Foggy. Mon, 04 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 03, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-03-2019.html 5.5 miles. Hood route. 7 am start. Super fog. 70ish degrees. Then I went to church and sat on a TB12 vibrating pliability sphere, while eating a donut. 8:30 pm. 67 degrees. 4.5 slow miles at halftime. Sun, 03 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 02, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-02-2019.html 7.75 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over the SWOM bridge and back. 7 am start. 60something degrees. First timed run since? But you've got to come to terms with where you are at some point. 1:04:02. 32:16 on the way out. Then I drove 1.5 hours to boy #1`s last soccer game of the season. They tied 2 2. It was a really physical game. Lots of penalties, a few cards. Some overexuberant parents. Good times. This is rhe only game we have not won. The other team was for sure dirty, but they were well-coached too. Once they got the lead, they slowed the game down to a crawl. Substitutions, extended time retrieving out of bounds balls, goalie waiting to punt. It was briliant, if I wasnt on the other team! This year, we have outscored our opponents 72-8. It's all tournaments after this until April-ish. it has been both a good and a bad year. Good, in that we won a lot of games. Bad, in that I think Tommy could have got a lot more out of this year in Player Development. Sat, 02 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 31, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-31-2019.html 3.5 mi. Hood route. Polar vortex of 47 degrees. 6 a.m. start. I wore a "hoodie." Thu, 31 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 29, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-29-2019.html 2 up. Then 8 x 100m+ grass sprints with 100m+ recoveries. 0.5 down. 6:15 am start. 42 degrees. The mist over the fields at sunrise was nice. Tue, 29 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 28, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-28-2019.html <p>3.5 miles. Hood Route. 6 am start. 47 degrees.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 28 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 27, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-27-2019.html <p><span style="display: inline !important; float: none; background-color: transparent; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); cursor: text; font-family: Times New Roman; font-size: 16px; font-style: normal; font-variant: normal; font-weight: 400; letter-spacing: normal; orphans: 2; text-align: left; text-decoration: none; text-indent: 0px; text-transform: none; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px; white-space: normal; word-spacing: 0px;">7.75 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over SWOM bridge and back. 50-something degrees. 7 am start. in the light rain. When I got home, I realized the back of my shorts was still dry. I don&#39;t think that&#39;s ever happened before. The front of me was soaked. The back of me was dry. How fast have you got to run to make that happen? I must have been flying! Just kidding. It was really smooth though.</span></p> Sun, 27 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 26, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-26-2019.html <p>7.75 miles. Hood route to legacy trail over SWOM bridge and back. 55 degrees. 7:20 am start. Very smooth. And it should have been! I took the last 3 days off! Long story short, work has received most of my attention lately.</p> Sat, 26 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 22, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-22-2019.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 49 degrees this morning. Really pushed the pace today. Tue, 22 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 21, 2019 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-21-2019.html Too much soccer yesterday! Mon, 21 Jan 2019 07:00:00