King of the Also-Rans Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 23 Feb 2017 11:27:52 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Feb 23, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-23-2017.html <p>7.5 miles. hood route to Legacy trail and back. 6 am start. Things are feeling normal again.</p> <p>boomin in ya, boomin in ya, boomin in ya jeep, or your honda, or your beemer, or your legend, or your benz. The rave of the town to your foes and your freinds.....</p> Thu, 23 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 22, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-22-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood route. 6:30 pm start. This is the beginning of a slippery slope. So far, I've been doing well at separating my workouts from my recoveries this year. Ever since Saturday, when I ran with Dan, any little thing- sniffles, cough, aches, etc.- keeps me from doing a workout. I could easily slip into 2016, where every run lacked purpose, the amorphous blob of pseudo fitness. It's pretty obvious who I should blame here.... Tom Brady. Ghosts appear and fade away.. Wed, 22 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 20, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-20-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood route. 7am start. I still don't feel right, but not bad enough not to run. Mon, 20 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 19, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-19-2017.html Woke up with a sore throat, and feeling like I was getting sick, so i skipped running. Spouse and I went to a funeral in the afternoon. The family is a big part of the local running community, so there were a few sentimental running stories in there. Sun, 19 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 18, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-18-2017.html 13.75 miles. Legacy Trail and Laurel Road to Circus Bridge to Caspersen Beach and back. 6:45 am start. Gulf has a bit of red tide this morning. Good run. Sat, 18 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 17, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-17-2017.html 5.5 miles. Hood route. A vine actually caught me under my nose and jerked my head back. That will wake you up. Oh yeah, thanks for bringing the cold front with you, Dan. Fri, 17 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 16, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-16-2017.html No running today, but the parents played against the kids at basketball tonight. The good news- that was the most fun I've ever had playing basketball. The bad news -those kids did not take their first loss well. Thu, 16 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 15, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-15-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 6am start. 6 p.m. At track. 2 up. 3 x 1200, 400 AR, 4:58, 4:55, 4:57. Then I ran one cool down lap, and then started to walk. Then I couldn't complete my cooldown. My legs said NO. So I went home. The cool down has a window of opportunity, it seems. If you wait too long you're just starting a new run. Wed, 15 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 14, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-14-2017.html 0.4 up. 5.5 in 42:36. 7:45 pace. 0.4 down. 6am start. 72 deg. Tue, 14 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 13, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-13-2017.html Hood route. 6 am. Mon, 13 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 12, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-12-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood route. 6 am start. Foggy. After church and haircuts, barefoot running bizness at the soccer fields. 2 up. 8 x 100ish sprints, jog back, 2 down. I have had Janis Joplin's Mercedes Benz song stuck in my head all day. Thanks, Allie! Sun, 12 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 11, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-11-2017.html 16.25 miles. Hood route to Legacy trail to Circus Bridge and back. 5:45 am start. Last 2 in 7:15, 6:47. I saw boy #2's basketball coach out there. Before dawn. Small. Town. Spouse is out of town this weekend. I think this is the longest run I've had, where I've left the kids unattended. They're okay, and the house is still here, so... Winning! Sat, 11 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 09, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-09-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. Foggy. Slow running. I am feeling good about this year's attempt to keep the workouts separate from the recoveries. I believe pushing the mileage or the pace today would have been a mistake. Thu, 09 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 08, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-08-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 6:45 am start. Super late start. It rained a bunch last night. So I anticipate a couple of lanes will be flooded at the track tonight. 6 pm. 72 deg. No flooding at the track. 1.5 up. (6)x400 w/ 400 recoveries. 2 down. 87, 88, 87, 89, 86, 87. not stellar, but my best track work out in quite some time. Wed, 08 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 07, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-07-2017.html 0.4 up around the block. 3.5 miles. Hood route. 25:42. 7:20 pace. 0.4 down around the block. Warm. 65 deg. Tue, 07 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 06, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-06-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 6am start. Slow. Mon, 06 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 05, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-05-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood route to Legacy trail and back. Super foggy. I ran in some old addias boost that i wore in birmingham two years ago. Anyhow, they felt great. Big sales today in sarasota, because it's race weekend. I should go check stuff out. I'm due for new kicks. 1:30 pm. 5 barefoot miles at the soccer fields. (2 up, (8) x 100ish sprints, jog back, 2 down.) I am really enjoying running barefoot. I also missed out on the big shoe sales in Sarasota this weekend. Meh. Sun, 05 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 04, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-04-2017.html 16.25 miles. Hood route to Legacy trail to Circus Bridge and back. 5:50 am start. Last mile - 6:44. Camelbak. I forgot to bring Gu. I got passed by a rollerblader. That might be a first. On a side note, whoever invented the strobe light bicycle headlight - you must now do something great for the world to offset this incredibly bad idea. Get to work. Sat, 04 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 03, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-03-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 6:15 am start. Fri, 03 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 02, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-02-2017.html 5.5 hood route miles. 6am start. The run felt good. I went to the Venice High School soccer game last night, instead of running intervals at the track. It was good to go, but I feel a bit guilty. Thu, 02 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 01, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-01-2017.html First attempt at running the track in the morning. Cut short. No POP at the track. We'll try this again. Wed, 01 Feb 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 31, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-31-2017.html 6 am start. 0.4 up. 3.5 hood route miles. 25:43. 7:21 pace. 0.8 down. 40 something degrees this morning. Yowsa. I also had to dodge some traffic. This is becoming more of a problem, at least on these timed runs. Tue, 31 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 30, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-30-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 6am start. Mon, 30 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 29, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-29-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood route to Legacy trail and back. 7am start. 50 degree drizzle. Steam coming up from the lakes. This run felt way better than it should have. There were some good moments where everything was clicking. I don't know if the barefoot stuff is going to happen today. It might be too cold / wet for that. 2pm. At field for barefoot running. 2 up. (8) x 100ish sprints, jog back. 2 down. I had a chance to weigh in tonight. I do not like what the scale says. Sun, 29 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 28, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-28-2017.html 16.25 miles. Hood route to Legacy trail to Circus Bridge and back. 6am start. Last mile in 6:51. Camelbak. Tried out a couple of new Gu flavors. Yucko. The run felt great, mostly because of the 41 degree dew point. It's like, so foreign. Now off to boy #2's bouncy hoops game. They're undefeated, and things are getting unbearable. Sat, 28 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 27, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-27-2017.html 5.5 uberslow hood route miles at 6am. I'm looking to go longer than usual tomorrow. 16.25. Time to dust off the camelbak. Fri, 27 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 26, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-26-2017.html 5.5 hood route miles. So very hot. Thu, 26 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 25, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-25-2017.html 6:30 pm. At track. 2 up. (4) x 800, with 400 active recoveries, 2 down. 3:03, 3:04, 3:07, and 3:04. I had the place to myself. There's something liberating about being able to run and not care about what strange involuntary noises come out of you. Wed, 25 Jan 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 24, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-24-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 6am start. 26:09. 7:28 pace. Tue, 24 Jan 2017 07:00:00