Don't Let The Muffin Top Fool Ya! Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 13 Dec 2017 15:19:30 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Dec 11, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-11-2017.html <p>5.5 miles. hood route. 41 degrees. 40 d.p. I am not used to moisture -free running. My moisture wicking attire is generating odd static electricity at my walk to start running. This is all short-lived.&nbsp;&nbsp;We will have highs in the mid 70s by next weekend, and back to my endless summer.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 11 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 10, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-10-2017.html 10.2 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail to colonia and back. 6 am start. Misfired the stop watch on the first half (Floridian in gloves) 42:38 2nd half. 8:22 pace I set out to run 7.5, but the weather was so cool and dry, and I felt so good, I kept going. That happens like never. I'm sure Mike had great weather in Tampa this morning, and had a great race. Sun, 10 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 09, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-09-2017.html 12.9 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail to Venice Ave and back. 1:53:19. 8:47 pace. I could really feel the run get smoother, as I went. 1st half 58:30, 2nd half 54:49. Mid 60s temps. Intermittent misty rain. Some wind. This is not the cold air I was promised. My buddy in baton rouge got sneaux yesterday! I hope the temps finally drop tonight for the halfathon tomorrow. Good luck, Mike! Sat, 09 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 07, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-07-2017.html <p>7.5 miles through a very thick, sound-muffling layer of fog. 6 am start. 1:04:40. 8:37 pace. Once again, I am behind on mileage this week, and have to catch up.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 07 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 06, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-06-2017.html <p>5.5 miles. Hood route. It is scheduled&nbsp;to drop 40 degrees in the next 2 days.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 05, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-05-2017.html <p>3.5 miles. hood route. hot and humid again. 31:42. 9:03 pace.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 05 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 03, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-03-2017.html 5.5 miles on the trails easy. Warm and humid. Mist through the pines. Sun, 03 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 02, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-02-2017.html .4 around the block then 12.9 miles in 1:53:59. 8:50 pace. Hood route to Legacy Trail to Venice Avenue and back. Super hot and humid. No breeze. Strong incoming tide at the bays. Like, the channel markers were throwing a wake. Sat, 02 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 01, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-01-2017.html <p>7.5 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail and Back. 5:50 am start. 1:05:19. 8:43 pace. The run felt really smooth. It could be because I did not play soccer last night. But, I&#39;m not ready to draw that stright line of a conclusion, yet. Also, the snowbirds are back.&nbsp;I don&#39;t think I&#39;ve ever had to stop this many times for traffic.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 01 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 30, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-30-2017.html <p>3.5 miles. Hood route. New socks are awesome. 31:07. 8:53 pace.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 30 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 29, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-29-2017.html 6 am. 1.5 miles. Just didn't have it. I went to Fit2Run at lunch. Some folks in my office want to put on a fundraiser 5k, and asked me to help. It is early in the process, still. But putting on a race is more challenging than I thought. Also, why did they ask me? It would be like saying "Tom, you go to a lot of concerts. Do you think you can set one up?" Then I found out that my division 1 college football coach has a better finishing time at Boston than your division 1 college football coach. I don't know if rhat translates into wins or points, but I sure think it's cool. Then, after work, I had planned on running one of the courses we are looking at for the race. But the park was closed. They are storing the trucks there that are picking up Irma's mess.... still. So I ran around Benderson instead. 3.5 miles. 80 degrees at the start. There were a few rowers in the lake at the start. Sunset. Very cool. Wed, 29 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 27, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-27-2017.html <p>7.5 miles. Hood Route to Legacy Trail and Back. 1:04:42. 8:38 pace. 6 am start.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 27 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 26, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-26-2017.html 3.5 miles. Last run in Fruit Cove. Then drove home. Traffic was thanksgivingey. Dan Mullen. Crazy. Sun, 26 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 25, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-25-2017.html 7.85 miles. Fruit cove run. Cooler this morning. Steam coming up from the rivers and lakes. 1:10:12. 8:56 pace. Yesterday, after running, I got to spend some time canoeing solo in Cunningham Creek. Very peaceful. The whole thanksgiving crowd drove to st. Augustine last night and did the light tour. It was really great. So now, spouse and her mom are on their way to the FSU-UF game, I sent the boys out to explore the creek in the canoe. I'll bet the boys come back with better tales. Sat, 25 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 24, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-24-2017.html 7.85 miles. Fruit Cove. Only rained for the last couple of miles today. 1:13:30. 9:22 pace. It felt slower and it was slower. Fri, 24 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 23, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-23-2017.html 7.85 Fruit Cove miles. In the rain. First half hour in the dark. 1:10:47. 9:01 pace. Thanksgiving is a marathon, not a sprint. I've got to pace myself if I want to still be in it for the pies at the finish. Thu, 23 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 22, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-22-2017.html 5.5 miles. Hood route. 52:18. 9:30 pace. My body wanted no part of running today. Wed, 22 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 21, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-21-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood Route to Legacy Trail and back. 1:06:35. 8:53 pace. Tue, 21 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 20, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-20-2017.html <p>I&#39;ve been following this since February. Amazing story.&nbsp;</p> <p>http://www.athleticsweekly.com/news/colin-mccourt-smashes-16-minutes-to-win-running-bet-in-style-70235</p> <p>Brilliant training. Lots of doubles. All (relatively) short, fast runs. Very specific.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 20 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 19, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-19-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail and back. 1:03:55. 8:31 pace. Smooth running. Sun, 19 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 18, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-18-2017.html 12.9 miles. Hood route to Legacy Trail to Venice Ave and back. 1:55:34. 8:57 pace. Pretty even pacing, by my guess. Beautiful morning. The glow over Dona Bay and Roberts Bay were awesome. Sat, 18 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 17, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-17-2017.html 3.5 miles hood route. 31:59. 9:08 pace. It was tough this morning. But I should have pushed for more miles. Fri, 17 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 16, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-16-2017.html <p>7.5 miles. Very Misty Hood Route. 1:06:32. 8:52 pace. My neighbor was finishing his run with his dog, when I&nbsp;started. He called out my name, and totally freaked me out. Shadowy figure coming out of the fog that yells your name - spooky.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 16 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 15, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-15-2017.html <p>7.5 miles. Hood Route. 1:04:37. 8:37 pace. I am encouraged that these runs speed up as they go. First mile was 9:xx.</p> <p>Also, as I&nbsp;was rounding the corner from Albee Farm Road to Edmonson Road, another runner was rounding the corner in the opposite direction. We almost had a head on collision. We both had to laugh. The only 2 people running in the whole town almost crash. Pretty funny.</p> Wed, 15 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 14, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-14-2017.html 3.5 miles. Hood route. 28:43. 8:12 pace. The moldy sidewalk next to tthe golf course irrigation overspray was pretty slick this morning. I forced me to be focused on how I was striking the ground. Tue, 14 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 12, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-12-2017.html 7.5 miles. Hood route. 1:08:29. 9:08 pace. The good news about this is the 3.5 minute neg. Split . The first 2 miles we 10+ minute miles. Feeling better aa the run goes on is a new one for me. Also, there was a breeze out of the north that pushed me a bit. Sun, 12 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 11, 2017 http://TomKutt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-11-2017.html 10.2 miles. Hood route to Legacy trail to colonia and back. 1:24:56. 8:49 pace. Fairly smooth. Then to Tampa for Tommy's soccer game. They won 5-0. Then, i bought myself some soccer spikes. I have been playing a lot lately. It makes sense, I guess. Sat, 11 Nov 2017 07:00:00